A decade of work advances care for children with cancer

Four out of five children diagnosed with cancer survive over the long term after treatment, but for 20 per cent of them, standard treatment is not enough. To improve outcomes for these kids, researchers at the Michael Cuccione Childhood Cancer Research Program at BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute (BCCHR) have been working for over a decade on the BC Pediatric Personalized OncoGenomics (PedsPOG) study, using genomics to identify treatments specific to an individual child’s cancer.

Dr. Zhenwei Ma receives Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship

Congratulations to Dr. Zhenwei Ma of Gao Lab (Integrative Oncology) for receiving a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship. 

The award is tied to the project titled, "Hydrogel adhesive artificial mucosa: a paradigm-shifting platform for esophageal cancer treatment and management.”

The Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships program provides funding to the very best postdoctoral applicants, both nationally and internationally, who will positively contribute to the country's economic, social, and research-based growth. 

First systemic therapy patient enrolled in a clinical trial in Prince George

BC Cancer – Prince George celebrated a significant milestone in early 2024 with the opening of a new clinical trial called CIRCULATE-NORTH-AMERICA, or CRC10, which marked the first time a systemic therapy clinical trial has been offered in northern B.C. to people with cancer. Since opening CRC10 in January 2024, the team in Prince George has enrolled two patients in this study.

BC Cancer 2024 Summer Research Studentship Awards Announced

BC Cancer 2024 Summer Research Studentship competition, sponsored by the BC Cancer Foundation, supports senior undergraduate university students and/or junior medical or dental students seeking hands-on training in cancer research in British Columbia. These summer studentships may address any discipline of cancer research including clinical, translational, basic, behavioural and population research areas.

The 2024 awardees are:

Back to top